Thursday, April 10, 2014

News and Tribune Reports Clark and Floyd Counties' Tax Bills in the Mail

From the Clark County News and Tribune:

Floyd County Treasurer Linda Berger announced that 2013-14 tax bills will be mailed Thursday, April 10. The first installment will be due by May 12.

Homeowners may pay their bill at any area bank — except PNC — by taking the original bill to the bank. PNC customers may use any other bank.

All mailed bills should be addressed to Floyd County Treasurer, PO Box 2010, New Albany, IN, 47151 (insert a stamped self addressed envelope for a returned receipt).

Bills may also be paid online at web site and click on “Pay taxes” in the upper right hand corner. There will be a convenience fee for using the online service.

Debit cards are a flat $3.95. E-Checks are a flat $1.50. Credit card charges are 2.85 percent of the total charges.

Residents also can pay in the office at 311 Hauss Square, Room 113, New Albany.

Call 812-948-5477 for more information.

Clark County property tax statements were mailed to taxpayers Monday, and the due date for the first of two installments is May 12.

Property owners will not receive a fall billing or tax due reminder for the second installment, which is due Nov. 10, unless they provide the Clark County treasurer’s office with an email address. The treasurer’s office will send a payment due reminder to any property owner registered for eBilling, according to a press release issued by the treasurer’s office.

For property tax bills less than $25, the entire amount is due May 12. Property owners whose mortgage banks escrow tax payments are encouraged to contact their banks to ensure that the tax bills have been paid.

Tax bills can be paid via any of several methods:

• Payments may be mailed to the Clark County Treasurer, P.O. Box 1508, Jeffersonville, IN 47131-1508. Payment is considered on time when postmarked by the U.S. Postal Service by the due date;

• Payments may be made in person at the treasurer’s office, located in Room 125 of the Clark County Government Building, 501 E. Court Ave., Jeffersonville. Taxpayers are encouraged to note that those wishing to pay in person risk substantial wait times because of staffing limitations;

• Payments may be made in person at any MainSource Bank, New Washington State Bank or Your Community Bank at all Clark and Floyd county locations, by cash or check. Taxpayers must bring their entire statement to the bank for their payment to be accepted;

• Credit cards, debit cards and e-checks can be used to make payments at All card payments will be processed with a convenience fee of 2.95 percent of the total tax payment. Payments can also be made by phone by calling 888-983-6443. The e-check payment option includes a flat fee of 95 cents.

Taxpayers with questions should call the treasurer’s office at 812-285-6205. For questions on exemptions and tax rates, call the Clark County auditor’s office at 812-285-6211, and for questions about assessments, call the county assessor’s office at 812-285-6225.